Page 1 of 1

Precise polar alignment with alignmaster question.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 3:46 am
by cuivenion
Hi, first off great tutorials Dion, they've really helped me in this hobby. I have a couple of questions about the above tutorial.

- How accurately do I need to be polar aligned before aligning with alignmaster? On my first attempt I had Polaris in the large polarscope circle thinking this would be enough, but the gotos to the alignment stars were just barely in the view of my widest field eyepiece (24mm 68degree max vision).

- I understand I have to do a one star alignment in eqmod in before using alignmaster. I am a little fuzzy on the procedure though. Should I?

Be set as Append To Sync, do the one star alignment.
Change to dialog mode and use Alignmaster.
Reset as Append To Sync, park to home position.
Start using eqmod.

- Once all that is done, do I need to delete the alignment points created by Alignmaster?

- Most puzzling question for last. When centering your star (in Alignmaster) in the two part section where you use AZ and ALT bolts,it implied that you can only use AZ in one section and ALT in the other. I found it in impossible to center the star using just one set of bolts, I had to both AZ and ALT in each section to get the star centered. Am I doing this right?

Sorry for the long post, any help would be great.

Re: Precise polar alignment with alignmaster question.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:00 pm
by Dion
Firstly, you need to set to dialog mode NOT append on sync in eqmod. If it says only use alt or az, then dont touch the other, although I do believe in the latest version there is a check box to allow you to do both. You simply do further iterations of the whole procedure to make the alignment more precise, and each iteration, (usually 2 is fine but possibly 3) you will find the alignment stars much closer to center and 'should' center using the alt or az controls.

Re: Precise polar alignment with alignmaster question.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:16 pm
by cuivenion
Thanks Dion, just to be clear, I should be using dialog mode all the time or just when using Alignmaster?

Re: Precise polar alignment with alignmaster question.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 6:24 pm
by Dion
Just when using alignmaster ;)

Re: Precise polar alignment with alignmaster question.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:31 am
by cuivenion
Awesome thanks.

Re: Precise polar alignment with alignmaster question.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:38 pm
by Freeomano
Cuivenion,
I was looking for the same answer.. I was using alignmaster last night and I could not center only in AZ was I able to but not in ALT. Have you been able to figure it out ? I will try again tonight but do a couple of alighments to see if that help but I am very frustrated.
This is my first time posting and not sure if I will get notified if you answer. If you do see this can you email me direct also just in case , like i said not sure how this works.

shand1@optonline.net

Re: Precise polar alignment with alignmaster question.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:14 pm
by cuivenion
Sorry just seen this. There is a box in the main start screen labelled 'correct axis separately'. Untick it and you should just be able to make your adjustments in both axis at the same time. I use the sharpcap polar align routine now.