Page 2 of 2

Re: Skywatcher 130p and prime focus

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:10 pm
by BrendanC
Sorry to bump this thread but I have a chance to get a cut-price 130PDS, but I really must know the answers to these questions first, if ANYONE out there can help:

* Can I put the 130PDS (ie dovetail fitting and weight) on the mount for this: https://www.tringastro.co.uk/sky-watche ... -528-p.asp
* Is the PDS OTA good for observing too, as well as imaging?
* Does the Skywatcher auto focuser work with its focuser?

Anyone?

Re: Skywatcher 130p and prime focus

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 5:51 pm
by BrendanC
Hi all, apologies but in the time it took for my last post to be approved, I've only gone and bought one! Got me a coma corrector too.

Thanks for all the help.

Re: Skywatcher 130p and prime focus

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 7:01 pm
by AstroChris
AstroChris wrote:Image

Is that the scope? Question: can't you loosen the side screws and then move the secondary slightly to the primary (like you would to fold it, but just a tiny bit) and then lock again? That still shift the focus point out. Because the secondary is flat we don't have to worry about that distance too much. It might "cut" some of the light coming back from the primary because we move it but that s shouldn't be too bad.

Try it and report on the results. I would be interested!!

Greetings
Chris


Gesendet von meinem LG-H870 mit Tapatalk
Does this method work? It would be cool if you try it and report the results. I would be highly interested :)

Thanks!


I wish you joy and fun with your new scope!! Looking forward to seeing your first images with the new scope!

Greetings and clear skies!
Chris

Gesendet von meinem LG-H870 mit Tapatalk

Re: Skywatcher 130p and prime focus

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:13 pm
by bengourben
Does this pic help?
This is my position when focused.
Looks like I've still plenty of room to go in.
Maybe just an issue with the 130p.
Hope you manage to get it sorted.
Cheers. Image

Jason

Re: Skywatcher 130p and prime focus

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:51 pm
by AstroChris
Na I think we talk about different things ;-)
So my point: if you have trouble with your old mount to achieve focus then what you normally do is modding the scope by shortening the tube. With normal Newtonians you would "simply" cut away some part of the back end of the tube and re attach the prime mirror. Scary!!

So if the scope above is your scope then one thing is handy: you can fold the scope tube together!! So unlock the two screws that hold the front/pointy end of the tube in place, shorten the tube just a fraction and tighten them again. Thereby you shortened the tube and the prime focus gets shifted out. Then you should be able to achieve focus. When using it visually then just lengthen the tube again.

Greetings
Chris

Gesendet von meinem LG-H870 mit Tapatalk